iPhone 4 Hunt

Unicorns discuss elusive iPhone4

First off let me preface this with, yes I know it’s just a phone. It doesn’t cure the sick, end world hunger or walk on water (but I’m sure it would skip really well across a lake before it sunk).

My iPhone 4 hunt began on launch day (July 30th here in Canada). I was at my local Rogers branch an hour and a half before they opened and 4th in line, it’s not like I slept out overnight or something crazy. Once the store opened, I discovered that they only had the 16GB model I left. Sorry I’m picky. Little did I know that my Rogers store only had three in stock and the first guy in line bought two of them.

I then went on vacation for a week and a half with the family and told myself I’ll just get one when I get back. Not the best plan.

Upon my return I discovered that Rogers had no stock and had not received any since launch. Also Rogers affiliates now had waiting lists of well over 100 people. The Rogers owned and operated stores were on a first come first serve basis.

Currently I am on ten waiting list from one end of the South Shore of Montreal to the other and call the other nine locations without waiting lists on a regular basis. Still no luck.

I have come close twice. The first time was two weeks ago when a Rogers Plus store had one in stock but couldn’t hold it for me till I finish work. By quitting time it was long gone. The second was much more annoying.

What follows is the post that was not approved on Rogers Redboard post regarding the iPhone4 launch.

Your comment is awaiting moderation. Our goal is to review all comments within 1 business day.


Ok here’s my horror story of the day.
I find a place with a 32gb iphone 4 in stock (actually they had a few in stock) waited in line for 45mins and then am told that they can’t do upgrades, just new account?!?!?! Even though I am out of contract.
So with the 17 combined years of service with Rogers between my cell and my wife’s you have to be a NEW client to get a phone!?!?!

So I called Rogers to complain about it. They said that they were sorry and understood & apologized for my emotional torment. They were sold out but would you like a Rocket stick? No thank you. So that rep transferred me to another rep in another department and he again said that they were sorry and understood & apologized for my emotional torment, but they could give me a 3gs 8gb. If I wanted a 3gs I could have picked one up in the last 6 months with no lines. I wanted the iphone 4 model.
He told me that the affiliate store was unable to do hardware upgrades.

So my problem is which affiliate stores can do upgrades and how many of the stores I am no a waiting list are going to be allowed to actually sell me one when my name does come up?
The only reason that store even had any left was that they only do new clients. They suggested that I cancel my account and get a new one.
This totally ruins my friday, thanks Rogers 😦
Worst. launch. ever. 😦

Now just so you don’t think I’m completely a whiny baby, I can understand that it really wasn’t pertinent to the thread and they might not want some bitchy post spreading FUD on their official site. On the other hand there are lots of posts about people talking about canceling their service and saying a lot worse stuff then I did. Of course I went on and did a bunch of pissy (and I thought hilarious) twitter updates expressing my frustration here, here and here.

A common point of frustration for Rogers clients comes from the fact that we can not buy it online from Rogers and wait for a delivery (like you can from Bell). Rogers has said on their RedBoard that “We hoped to avoid a situation where we took orders without being able to guarantee when we’d deliver devices.” That’s a fair point but either way Rogers is going to have people calling them about stock in stores or when their iPhone is going to ship. Not excepting online orders places the task of dealing with their clients on the stores and not Rogers customer service and undoubtedly is a cost saving measure. For example Planète Mobile head office told me the reason that their stores were not answering the phone for two weeks was because they were simply swamped with calls about the iPhone 4.

My main fear about missing out on the iPhone4 is the limited time offer (till September 30th) of a 6GB data plan for $30. While still expensive for me, it’s better than their usual $25 for 500mb plan. If I wasn’t on this deadline, I would be happy to wait till December to find one. With the limited stock Rogers is receiving it might actually take that long. I have not personally heard of a location getting more than 8 iPhones a week.

If I pass the deadline and still no iPhone 4, the next iPod Touch if having similar features to current iPhone will probably replace my gen one iPod Touch (who’s wifi has failed) and save me $30 a month for at least two years. Hello iPhone 6! At which point I’ll have been out of contract with Rogers for two and a half years.

So until I get one I’m just going to let it go and stop calling stores about stock. I have enough stress in my life already without worrying about getting a new expensive phone made out of glass with an also expensive monthly plan.

2 thoughts on “iPhone 4 Hunt”

Leave a Reply

