King City & The Phantom

I’ve been reading a great comic called King City, why the hell aren’t you? This is one of those titles that makes you remember why you started reading comics to begin with.

King City #6
King City #6

It’s story is imaginative and bizarre and revolves around a cat master named Joe and his cat Earthling. A cat master is like a super ninja but you have a cat that’s like a Swiss army knife. Trust me, awesome.

King City is bits Anime (sexy girls with big eyes) and cyberpunk (sexy girls with big eyes in flying cars). Seven issues in I have really grown attached to these characters with their real and believable interactions with each other. Good characterization is good anywhere, sexy girls in flying cars are just icing. Plus it’s full of puns… I like puns. They’re punny.

King City is probably one of the first books where I don’t look at the black and white printing as a cost saver. Colour (I’m Canadian, we spell it with a “u” stupid spell check) would only distract you from the enormous amount of detail squished into each panel and there is tons & tons of it.

I just recently picked up issues #6 and #7. What great work. A street fight between a super powered cat and a old undead man. A drug that turns Zombie War veterans into more of the drug and a drug knife you can have sex with. Something for everyone.

King City #7

King City Volume #1 is out now and a steal in value and creative writing and art from Brandon Graham. Get it! I’ve got a bucket and a cat.

The Phantom Ghost Who Walks #9

Sadly canceled my reserve of Moonstone’s The Phantom Ghost Who Walks is not a ringing endorsement I know. That said, I had such hopes for this title when I heard of it. The warm feelings I have for 1930’s costumed adventures like the Phantom, Mandrake the Magician and the Shadow is disproportionate to the amount of exposure I had to them growing up. Other than the horribly dated Defenders of the Earth (and totally rad) cartoon I can’t think of anywhere else I might have run into these characters.

Taking place in present day Africa The Phantom battles Somalian Pirates, human traffickers and children soldiers, not as exciting as it sounds. I can understand and aplaud the want to modernize the story of The Phantom and bring him into the 21st century but (personally) in doing so he loses much of his mystery of being the immortal ghost who walks. Perhaps it’s the romance and perceived innocence of the 1930’s I miss.

The stories were passable but like the characters very one dimensional and hard to get into. While art is not always a deal breaker for me (and I can forgive a lot) it lacked texture and depth.

Die hard fans of the Phantom will eat this up. Even ending on a cliffhanger issue #9 is not enough to make me want to find out more. I only have so much comic dollars to go around.

Leave a Reply

