Cheap Geek: iPhone vs. iPod & True Love

iPhone 4?

When Gizmodo (found/stole/ bought/who knows?) the possible new iPhone in April, I knew who I was taking to the proverbial phone prom. I’d get an iPhone.

The fourth generation iPhone blew my first generation iPod Touch out of the water. With it’s A4 processor, front & rear cameras, higher resolution screen and (presumed) longer battery life I was in love. It could do no wrong and I was counting the days till WWDC when it would be official and I could be united with my true love.

Then reality hit, and hit hard it did. Like all relationships that start off so well we started fighting about where the money was going. I’ve got a great family plan with Rogers or another way of putting is that it’s not as shitty as when they offer now. So skip to the end, It would cost a minimum of $25 a month extra for the 500mb data plan. I know that doesn’t sound like a lot of money but for 500mb it’s insane and over a 3 year contract (before taxes) it would be $900. That kind of money could buy me an HDTV.

It was over. My fleeting hopes of having a relationship with the prettiest phone in the cheer-leading squad were over like a 1980’s teen film.

Then came a leak of another Apple prototype… an iPod Touch with a 2 megapixel camera. 1980’s teen film tip: If you can’t get the girl of your dreams who let’s face it was way too high maintenance, go for her nerdy quite sister with the heart of gold who’s been your shoulder to cry on for the first two acts and is secretly in love with you.

Possible 4th Gen iPod Touch?

A new iPod Touch (fall 2010?) will probably be specked with the same internals as the 4th gen iPhone. An A4 chip, bluetooth, speakers (both of which the 1st gen Touch didn’t have) and a camera would be a dream device for me. I would totally get the 32GB model as my current 16GB is always full. It would be expensive but still cheaper than getting a new desktop that I would never use as I’m always on my Touch.

EXT. HIGH SCHOOL FRONT STEPS – SUNSET LAST DAY OF CLASS

CAMERA SLOW TRUCK OUT ON BOOM

Grant and iPod Touch 4th generation lean in to kiss each other.

INSERT – Don’t You Forget About Me by Simple Minds.

FADE OUT

Leave a Reply

