Plague Movies Do Not Help One’s Hypochondria

This past week I watched both the BBC's remake of Survivors and Doomsday.

Not the best thing to watch when I can be bit of a hypochondriac.

Doomsday was okay, kind of a modern Mad Max. Even the over the top gore was reminiscent of 1980's horror movies. Fun, but not thought provoking.

Back in the 1980's I watched most of the old Survivors series on PBS and I was looking forward to the remake.

It's got high production value and a great ensemble cast. It's based in reality, unlike other ensemble cast shows like Lost, Heroes or zombie survival films. If there was a global pandemic to wipe out millions again, this is what it probably would look like.

I've only seen the first two episodes so far and I can't wait for more.

One thing the new Survivors series points out even more than the 1970's one, is how dependent on technology we have become. The survivors of the Black Death at the very least had the skills needed to rebuild society. Anyone here know how to farm or make clothes from raw materials?

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

4 thoughts on “Plague Movies Do Not Help One’s Hypochondria”

  1. I watched the first ep of survivors and will try and watch the second tonight. I'll be honest I intially wanted to watch it because of Freema Agyeman haha, but I am enjoying it even though she wasn't in it very much.

Leave a Reply

