The List: Netiquette

Here's a run down of a few netiquette's everyone should be following. But mostly they are behaviors that I continually run up against out here.

Your Work Email As Your Only Email
Really you're going to do that? Seriously? In 2008? If you were unaware, there are excellent web based email clients that are free (Live Mail, Gmail & Yahoo Mail).

mail2webWindowsLiveyahoo mailgmail

All come with gigabytes of storage and are accessable from both home and work. Most ISPs offer web based access to your email account, but if they don't there are services like Mail2Web that can check you ISP email account remotely. If you don't believe me check out this article that also talks about the possible privacy implications of using your work email for personal use.

Attaching Photos to Email
Just because broadband is near ubiquitous in use, that doesn't mean you should use it irresponsibly and fill inboxes  with megabytes of photos. There are far more efficient ways to share your photos.

Flickr logoDropboxFacebookVox

There are tons of online photo storage/share sites out there. Flickr, Facebook, Picasa, SmugMug and VOX (home to this blog) are all free and offer privacy settings. I like Dropbox because it can be used for offsite storge/backup but it can generate links to share photo albums and Facebook can also do this. It's a good feature so you can share photos with friends and family who are not members of these groups but still offers you some level of privacy. If anyone is interested I have 10 invites left for Dropbox.

Facebook
You might find it strange that I have a whole section dedicated to Facebook, but to me that's just an indicator of the impact it's had in the social network sector and it hasn't been all good. It's brought people who would never have the inclination, time or willingness to update a blog or post their status on services like twitter. Due to this influx of norms there are a few things I have to get off my chest.

  • Tagging kids as parents. If you have photos of my kids it's usually because I was there at the event as well. So it's safe to say that I'll see the photos of said event and you won't need to tag them as me.

  • The incessant noise over the new Facebook redesign. You know ten years ago when you were watching Friends and Seinfeld? Well guess what, I was on the internet. Do you know how many site redesigns I've seen in the past decade? Alot and I'm still alive. I don't know where this entitlement people feel that have over a free service that could charge money for their now indispensable site. Anyone remember Classmates.com? No one wants to pay for this service myself included. You'll get through this, don't worry. It could be worse you could pay $30 a year to contact anyone.

  • If you invite me to an event on Facebook and then send out a mass email inviting me to the same event, I'm just going to assume that you have no idea who's in your address book (myself included) and will consider it spam. Sorry.

These are just a few guildlines you should follow online, you don't have too but if you don't then I just might have to write another snarky post and I don't think anyone wants that.

Of course I'm not onesided on this. What are some netiquette's that you follow or wish others did? I'd love to hear them.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

9 thoughts on “The List: Netiquette”

  1. another good way to store your photos and files that you want others to have access to is Drop.io which is another free service, and you don't even need to sign up to use it.As for Facebook, it's so passe the new tool for people who want to network but don't want a blog or twitter, or Facebook is LinkedIn

  2. Drop.io is also another get choice belldandy, totally slipped my mind. Funny you should say that Linkedin is the new tool when it's been around longer that FB and MySpace… I believe.

  3. I keep up with my Myspace and Facebook now and again, but I have gone astray from it. They have lost their appeal. As for Facebook's newest layout change, it's fine with me. There are some random bugs.One email? Mhm… Ha.

  4. I have a myspace account but never used it. I like FB because my VOX gets pulled into it so I don't have to email people posts to get them to read it.Personally I have four addresses, but I really only use my gmail account. I really only use my isp account for older family members that email me there every so offten.

  5. I have a couple Yahoo! accounts and a gmail with multiple addresses that direct back to my main account. I'd never give out my main e-mail address. I found VOX through on application on my Centro. I had forgotten about it, but I'm getting back into it, and frankly, I'm getting rid of my other blogs now.

Leave a Reply

