Day One Recap

So the drive down I found long and arduous, the boys were a little of a hand full and refused to fall asleep until we were almost at our destination.

I did score a free NY road map and a really nice road side assistance brochure that has I-87 broken down by rest stops and all pertentant information if you broke down. And it folds out into a SEEN HELP sign that you can leave up in your car window. What an excellent idea, never seen anything like that for free at home.

We went to a Wal-Mart since we were a little early to get our motel rooms. But I must say the Lynn Aire Motel is a great place to stay. Sure Clean, modern and did I mention the free Wifi?

So funny story at Wal-Mart. I picked up a 12 of beer and went to pay for it at the self serve check out lanes. Of course it called for an attendant since you have to have ID. So I showed the young woman my Quebec drivers license, which she told me was illegal as valid ID and she wouldn't expect my old expired Passport (that USA Customs had no problem accepting and they out terrorists).So she grabbed the beer and walked off all snarky.

I asked an associate about it and she said that a Quebec drivers license was acceptable form of ID.

So take two. I got another case when to the cashes and the woman there just passed me thorough. Maybe it was because by this time the boys were getting a little hyper (that's the polite way of putting it) and she just wanted to help us get out of the store.

After lunch and getting unpacked in the Motel, we went to Target and the boys picked out a vacation toy each. Carts got a Thomas & Friends train and ET got a Batman Fisher Price play set that was only $14! Target to me is a little like Zellers but everything is completely in English. I couldn't get over how the new Star Wars Toys are so much cheaper here. Like $3 less a figures!!! I would have loved to get the Millennium Falcon play set. Donna asked how much it cost and I responded "did it matter how much our wedding cost? This would look so good in our bedroom!" Joking, joking.

Unfortunately, I forgot to look for cat hats, but I'm waiting to hear from my Mom if she wants us to get some for her.

IMG_7136IMG_7133IMG_7134

Dinner was at Pizza Hut which has been the fanciest restaurant we have ever taken the boys. The kind of place where you pay after you eat.

After that it was back to the Motel and we were all in bed by 10:30pm.

Today we're planning to hit the Great Escape with our LaRonde season passes and parking pass that is good down here also!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

3 thoughts on “Day One Recap”

  1. LOL. i had to laugh about the millennium falcon play set. hehe.i haven't been to pizza hut in forever! hehe.i LOVE target. do you not have Target where you live? i swear, i single-handedly keep my local target in business. hehe. dude, we have 4 within a 10 minute drive of where i live!

Leave a Reply

