My Favorite iPhone Apps

Over the weekend I had some time to play around with Apple's App Store for the iPhone and iPod Touch. Here are some of my favorite applications.

Games


Aurora Feint the Beginning:

Your first impression might be that's Aurora Feint is just a Tetris or Coloums knock off but there is dept to this game.

You get the unique element of a RPG with a puzzel game. Yes I know they are out there I've just never played any of them.

What really makes Aurora Feint stand out from the rest is that you can turn your iPhone / Touch completely around to rearange the blocks and move them around to make new arrenments to complete the level.

I can't get over that this is actually free. It looks better than most of the pay games on the App Store and plays better than some I have bought on my old Game Boy SP.

The one downside is that it is a little glitchy and once in a while hangs. Hopefully the developers will address these issues in future updates.

IMG_0009IMG_0008IMG_0010

Break:

Ok it ain't no Arkanoid but it does get the job done for free.

It's great to use your finger to slide the paddle back and forth to hit the ball it really works well. Another great touch (pardon the pun) to pause the game you simply remove your finger from the screen. Genius!

The graphics look very good on my Touch and for free you can't beat it.

Utilities

Light:

Does what it says. It produces a full white screen on your screen. I have already used my Touch to light up my room to get into bed, but this app is like a search light.

Remote: Apple files this under entertainment, but I consider it more utilities.

I can use it to control my iTunes anywhere in the house using the wifi. Now if I had speakers upstairs connected to my computer downstairs I would totally use this.

I know there are hunderds of app on the store but I just wanted to get the ones I've used to kill the battery on my Touch numerous times in the past few days out there for others to try out.

If any of you have some favourite apps I would love to hear about them.

And if you want to read some reviews on App Store apps check out AppStoreApps from Four20.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

