I’ve Got a Bad Feeling About This….

If it's not one thing, it's another. Come on!

I'm currently running Windows Defender, Ad-Adware, Spybot, AVG and Panda ActiveScan which is the only one to have found anything so far. I got suspicious when I got a strange error message on start up about winlogon and seeing an exe by that name running in the task manager. I could not find any definitive answer if is it's a virus / spyware or just a normal windows process.

There went my night.

Update: After leaving my system to get scanned over night I still don't know if I have / had a virus or not. The viruses Panda found we false positives and Windows Defender came up empty. And all Ad-Adware and Spybot found were tracking cookies. The downside is this doesn't rule out that I don't have a virus.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

9 thoughts on “I’ve Got a Bad Feeling About This….”

  1. Winlogon.exe is the windows logon manager. It's not a virus. However,
    that's not to say that something could not be modifying it or
    tailgating on it to get into your system. If you ever need to know what a process is that is running, check out sites like this one to see if it's listed. There are a bunch of these, this is the first one that came up in a google search.
    My sympathies on your frustration….The problem with scanners is nowadays, by the time you've found out you are infected, it's already too late. Even if you find a cleaner/remover for the virus/spyware, there is absolutely no way to be 100% sure that you are not compromised by something else. The best defense is to change your habits so you don't get infected by something in the first place, and create images of your installations so when you do find out that you are infected, you can revert to a safe and un-compromised configuration.

  2. i have something on my computer, too. g server something. or was it 1 2 3 4 5 or something weird.anyway, yeah. my scanners won't find anything either. it's frustrating. stupid computers. heh.

  3. Thanks Ross for that site. I totally am the one that tells everyone the same thing. You don't get infected because of something breaking in, you get something by the user clicking on something they shouldn't.

  4. You might want to try typing cmd in run, and then trying tasklist/svc to see all the programs running on your computer. Google each item you're not familiar with to check where they might be from.Hope that helps out a bit.

Leave a Reply

