Aerosmith & Guitar Hero

The high of last week's mention of two possible new Guitar Hero games in the next 14 months has been dashed with the news that it will be an Aerosmith exclusive game.

Not to say that I don't like Aerosmith they're fine and all, but on the other hand I don't own a single Aerosmith record, 8 track, audio tape, mini disc or CD of the prolific rock band. And I'm sure I'm not the only one that is thankful to the band for giving me Alicia Silverstone during my adolescence.

Nintendo Wii Fanboy seems to feel the same way, about the game, not Alicia Silverston. I'm sure there will be other guitar heroes out there that will surely feel the same way.

I know that Guitar Hero is popular and good luck finding one in stores, but is the user base large enough to support a game riding one bands catalogue even if it does span almost 40 years? Of course if this was say a Beatles exclusive  game I don't think we'd be having this conversation.

UPDATE: I might have rushed to judgment on this game. See what a friend of mine said, makes sense.

Thanks for the info… and I for one, having grown up on mostly Aerosmith and Bon Jovi, am happy to hear about the upcoming game 😀 I actually have said that Walk This Way would be a good song for GH.
Really, when you think of it, what other band CAN they base a whole game around? It would have to be obviously a band that is really really popular, has a huge catalogue to pick from and obviously is guitar-driven. MAYBE Rolling Stones, but the youngens would be like… Rolling who? ACDC might work too, but a lot of their songs are basically the same. So ya… Aerosmith works for me.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

10 thoughts on “Aerosmith & Guitar Hero”

  1. A Beatles-based Guitar Hero would be hard. Not so much their early stuff, but all their older stuff was written on piano and is a bitch to play on guitar (apparently. I play piano.) Not that I'm a fan or anything. I'll go over here now…

  2. Good point, I didn't think of that. The point I was trying to make was that the Beatles were such a great band every song is a classic. There are some Areosmith songs I've never even hear. Personally I'd love to see a Sloan GH but I'm not holding my breath.

  3. Hehe I know that's the point you were making but I conveniently walked around it to rant all on my own 🙂
    But yeh, it would be difficult to come up with a band, with a catalogue, and make it into GH. The only Aerosmith song I know is the one from that movie with the meteor (I think?) that got played endlesesly about 10 years ago and I can't remember what it's called. (So descriptive. Thank my baby brain.)

Leave a Reply

