Time Memory

016014013012

During WWI my grandfather's brother was in the merchant marines and after the war ended up in Australia. In the 1950's he came back to visit and left behind a few boxes of slides.

010009008007

As my family history project of scanning the slides is slowly progressing I can't help but be moved by these captured moments of time. To me it's a "if a tree falls in the forest and no one is there it hear it does it make a sound?" line of thought. If photos are not viewed do the moments they store never happen? A life span is such a blink in the cosmic time frame. To me photos have always been a way of prolonging your time here to be remembered and capturing that perfect moment and memory.

005004

So I guess in a way I'm being selfish in doing all this work. With me remembering the past, perhaps one day someone will see a photo of me and wonder.

And no Mom I am not maxing out my VOX account storage posting all the slides.

I wonder if any of this looks familiar to my Australian neighbors?

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

4 thoughts on “Time Memory”

  1. I love these! Are the descriptions what your grandfather wrote on the slides? I was really curious about the man mowing his lawn. What a great project! I have hundreds and hundreds of photos that it would be good to turn into digital media. Between you and Cat, I'm getting inspired!

  2. Thanks snoringKatZ. I'm guessing it's my great Uncle's writing on the back of the slides. I did see Cat's slides before, maybe that's what got me going and I had forgotten. This really started off with me scanning all my photos I took from 1990 (till I got a digital camera in 2002?) to post on FaceBook. Then I thought hey my parents have all these slides…. I don't know what draws me to these old photos. A simpler time, the retro look, the color of the film processing, forgotten memories, my pack rat collectors addiction?

  3. A simpler time, the retro look, the color of the film processing, forgotten memories, my pack rat collectors addiction? All of the above!!! (and I'm glad because now I get to enjoy them, too)

Leave a Reply

