You Win This Round Steve… He’s My 20 Bucks

I was totally checking out the live blogging when Steve gave his key note Tuesday at MacWorld Expo. I'm not going to go into great detail since there are those who actually attended the event and I can simply link to their coverage, like Engadget or MacBreak Weekly for example.

So yes I did spend the $20 to upgrade my Touch to get mail, maps, weather, stocks and notes. Yes I know they were included free on the iPhone from the start and moving forward now on the Touch. Yes I know that I could do two of the five simply by looking out a window or going outside. But this was my first Stevenote where I actually had an Apple product ever. I love the maps feature and how magically you can get an approximate location by a wifi-connection. Thanks Skyhook now I'm war driving trying to find open hot spots.

But you nickel and dime me again Steve and look out, I just might just have bring the full weight of my blog to Apple's doorstep.

Here's the next item I got excited about. No, not the MacBook Air , I mean something I could actually afford without selling one on my children's souls for a down payment. It was the announcement of the Family Guy DVD Star Wars spoof Blue Harvest. Even thought I've seen it (thanks to bittorent) I'm going to purchase it (because of bittorent) and for a first time, brand new feature that has never been done before (at least to my knowledge) on a DVD. Digital Copy! They actually give you a digital copy that you can move to your computer, personal video player or whatever. I never thought I would see the day. So get out there right now (unless it's the middle of the night for you, then wait till tomorrow) and support this feature and maybe just maybe we will see it on every DVD release.

Of course this is one of those things I'll be telling my kids about in 20 years how you used to buy movies and television on DVD and even thought you bought it and it was yours and you only wanted a personal copy, you had become a criminal to break the copy protection and then take the equivalence of an university degree on video bit rates and format conversions and programs that were originally written in Japanese get it to play on your GBA SP. And then they'll ask me what's a DVD. I feel so old already.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

9 thoughts on “You Win This Round Steve… He’s My 20 Bucks”

  1. mia and her friends will probably not know what vinyl and CDs and cassettes are. well, she'll see our vinyl and CDs, but still. hehe. the first time we show her any of these, she'll probably be like, WTF…

  2. I'm with you on this. I consider my $20 investment (not a lot when converted to UK pounds) a good one. I've really enjoyed having Mail on my iPod and am lucky enough to live and work in areas with great wifi coverage (central London). It's great.I think people complaining about the $20 are underestimating what that gets them. Apple have been spoiling us with free upgrades for too long. Any one of those apps could go for $10 (at least) each on any other platform (e.g. Palm).So I'm not feeling robbed in any way – just enjoying extra functionality on my iPod 🙂

  3. You're lucky. Not much coverage here in the suburbs of Montreal 😉 The mail and maps is great. The maps is worth 20$ for me. Much better than printing out a google maps directions.

Leave a Reply

