Currency Frustration

After yesterday's visit to Futureshop, I'm still really excited about the iPod Touch. So I've been doing some research on my possible future purchase and I'm a little annoyed.

On the Canadian Apple Store the Touch is $329 and $449 for the 8 and 16 GB respectively. But to my shock and awe it's $299 and $399 on the US Apple Store. USA indeed.

Last time I checked the Canadian dollar (aka the Loonie) was trading higher than the American dollar. Did retailers not get the memo? I know there's more to it than that, I'm just choosing to ignore economics, market forces and international money markets. Ok?

Thinking I'd save $30 over on the US site I discovered that they don't ship to Canada. Damn you Steve!

Just another example of Apple playing to the home town crowd. Maybe they would have a greater worldwide market share if they didn't subsidize sales at home at the cost of foreign consumers.

Of course when and or if I ever get the Touch, hopefully  I won't have to wait very long for 3rd party applications. All praise the mighty SDK.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

2 thoughts on “Currency Frustration”

Leave a Reply

